snow

Today I saw the first sparkle of snow in the air. My little boy didn’t believe me. I shouted “Buddy, look in the air, see the snow falling? ”
“No, it’s just little bubbles mom!” he replied.
The thought had never occurred to me before. How awesome would it be to rain tiny bubbles, like the bubbles in a glass of wine and floating through the air, thick as a blizzard and completely harmless! The forecaster would say, “Partly sunny today with a chance of bubbles!”
It’s a child’s dream to make bubble men in the back yard instead of snowmen. It would be like pouring a hot tub full of bubble bath so thick they invade the neighbors yard.
The thought occurred to me that we spend our childhood jumping in to things. We go from snowbanks, to pools, to leaf piles, and haystacks, and then can be so afraid to do anything like that when we get older. Some people forget how to live and get old and bitter. I don’t care so much as to think of what other people think of me, so long as we are happy.

Leave a Reply

